top of page
  • Writer's pictureDreamer

Stranded and Broken - Visual Art

Good morning, or afternoon, or night! My name is Dreamer, I am a teenager living in California, and I am here to help people understand what anxiety feels like through creative expression and/or art.



Have you ever walked by a beautiful piece of artwork, but not know what it means? Many people who have anxiety draw beautiful pictures, expressing themselves through visual art, but not many people are capable of interpreting it. My interpretations may not be accurate according to the artist, but I hope breaking down a piece of art will help you find what it means and what it feels like to you.


We start with this piece. A solid black background behind a set of strings, most of which are broken or bent. Someone walking by this in an art museum wouldn't think much of it, normally, but every piece of art does have a feeling behind it. It could have many different meanings, but one of them I see personally is in the strings themselves. They are white, which contrasts with the black background. Some are bent, which I believe means uncertainty, but I don't see any broken ones. This may represent that this person has been bent a lot, but their spirit is not broken. What do YOU think this means? It's different for everyone!

17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page